When They Cry - Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

When They Cry

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, When the Cicadas Cry, The Moment the Cicadas Cry, ひぐらしのなく頃に
/ Spring 2016 Anime

Plot Summary:

Keiichi Maebara has just moved to the quiet little village of Hinamizawa within the summer of 1983, and quickly becomes inseparable friends with schoolmates Rena Ryuuguu, Mion Sonozaki, Satoko Houjou, and Rika Furude. However, darkness lurks underneath the seemingly idyllic life they lead.

As the village prepares for its annual festival, Keiichi learns about the local legends surrounding it. To his horror, he discovers that there are several murders and disappearances within the village within the recent years, which all of them seem to be connected to the festival and therefore the village’s patron god, Oyashiro. Keiichi tries to ask his new friends about these incidents, but they’re suspiciously silent and refuse to offer him the answers he needs. As more and weirder events occur, he wonders just what else his friends could be keeping from him, and if he can even trust them in the least.

Episode List: